Thursday, July 28, 2011

Some things I miss...

and things im craving....
- crushed red on eeeeeverything
- cheese on eeeeverything (they put cheese on muffins lol its actually not that bad, but cheese on everything else lol)
- summer weather - its cold
- my tan
- nana cookies
- slim jims
- GSN (for a while now)
- my bridge card
- chipotle
- sourpatch

haha it sounds like im starving....im not at alllll

- the big dipper
- twitter (which i could go on i just dont feel like it)
- my string, im usually decked out in bracelets this time of year...im slacking
- pepper (my dog...and the spice too i guess hahah)
- my slippers
- my winter coat
- my 1000 scarfs at home
- my PARTICULAR msu hoodie (mom) lol
- my wardrobe, the one time i didn't over pack, i wish i had more lol

- sherley

i know it sounds like im complaining or im homesick, but im really not at all, i absolutely love it here and im having the time of my life, and learning sooooo much! and discovering a passion, or at least im enjoying what im doing.. a lot -  im just realizing some things im craving or wish i could teleport to me hahhaha

sorry i've been lazy in my updates, teaching wears you out man!
ill try maybe and get one up before saturday, we are going away again this weekend!
so hopefully i can tell you about this week before i go!

bye for now,

Erin

ohhhh and of course i miss all of you!! :)

when does a new season of modern family start up again? am i way late on that?

Monday, July 25, 2011

Shark Cage Diving in Hermanus

As Promised…


Before I get started..sorry if I am talking to you online and the internet cuts out, I think its my computer actually and not the connection, however internet is a little funny here so im not sure but I can promise its more frustrating for me then it probably is you for! Gaaa once you become depended on the Internet all the time for literally everything.. It’s really hard not to have it.. Oh well, ill just have to adjust, not worth getting upset over, right..besides, absence makes the heart grow fonder anyways. I chatted with mom dad and Andrew last night that was nice.  Soo I do have a phone now which anyone can skype, 079-444-1199 im not exactly sure how it works through skype but if you wanna talk id love to chat with anyone!! Or if you wanna call from your phones you can do that too lol.


Anyway, back to the good stuff…


Wrapping up the week at UCT we had an awesome brie (bbq) like dinner.  That’s not what it was called I forget what it was, its starts with a p I think, but im too lazy to look it up.  Anyways, I might have already mentioned this but I can’t get online to check ssooo ill just say it again.  We had lamb (of course), rice, veggies..and all sorts of delicious eats!  And then we had a wild fun karaoke night!  It felt good to let loose and just bust a move haha.  we had a good jam sesh…you’ll see what I mean when I upload picts eventually lol.  Then on Saturday, June 16th we headed off for the weekend in Hermanus.  On the way we stopped at Bikini beach and Gordans Bay.  These are a few of the many beautiful beaches all around the Cape Town area.  We played in the sand and the freezing water a little bit, got some snacks and then we were on our way.  We finally got to Hermanus and had some time to walk around a little bit and shop at the market.  We had lunch at the Zebra Café.  Apparently they have a regular there..he is a little birdie and when they open in the morning, if there is not bread or cheese out for him he get angry!  After lunch we went to the market and worked a little more on our bargaining skills.  We then met back up for dinner at Mugg and Bean (which apparently started in San Francisco).  I order an omelet – I kid you not, it was a NINE EGG omelet!  The freakin biggest portions I have ever seen.  Its like that everywhere and if you eat at home you have to take like 3 plates!  I don’t understand how the people here aren’t fat, and how Americans are fatter…we market ‘light’ meals and smaller portions..uhh.  The following day we went to Cape Agulhas, the southern most point of South Africa.  We had lunch this is where the Atlantic and Indian Ocean really meet.  (but there is controversy near cape point because that is where the 2 currents collide).  We had lunch at the lighthouse and walked up and down the beach taking tons of pictures, of course.  I took a handstand picture for you Andrew! Haha.  That night, we got to bed early in preparation for our early morning and day of shark cage diving.  Every time when I even talk about this I get nervous again.  So we left the place around 6 in the morning to head out to the boat.  They gave us a briefing of what to expect, served up breakfast and then we were on our way!  Once we found the area that we were going to dive at we anchored at threw out the bait.  It takes anywhere between 30-60 minutes sometimes for the sharks to come around.  So while waiting we got in the wetsuits and ready to dive.  The captain on the boat again briefed us on what to expect, rules and things like that.  He reassured us that in all their years of operating there had never been an accident.  Being in the cage creates a magnetic field around you and the shark does not even recognize you at a living being.  While it can see you, it is not attracted to you whatsoever.  The first shark came around it was pretty exciting..crazy actually.  First I have never seen a shark out in the wide-open ocean and second I was about to get in the damn water with it….what am I thinking???  im scared of the water!  The first group went down and I watch from the side of the boat - it was insane but I was really excited.  The sharks get so close to the cage, sometimes they hit it (and apparently get stuck in it!).  the first group switched out and I went in with the second…unfortunately we waited forever in the freezing water for some more sharks to come back around, but then – some super big ones came around.  The first dunk in, and actually seeing a shark’s face just feet away from mine was something else.  Im not really sure I can put words together to explain it.  Just imagine it yourself.  It was defiantly a thrill.  The sharks were swimming all over the place, jumping out of the water to try and catch the bait!  It was INSANE!!  After everyone had a try I even went in again…that’s when we got attacked.  The shark came after the bait, and the guy who throws in the bait quickly pulls in the bait to lure the shark in and sometimes get it to jump out of the water.  Well this particular time, the shark swam by the bait and as the guy pulled it away the shark quickly changed directions to try and get it, the bait was quickly pulled back and then thrown in again as the shark was close by, upon turning around he hit the side of the cage, when the bait was pulled out for the second time, he just kept swimming, with some force I might add, and swam right into the cage, and that’s where he got stuck!  I was so cared I jumped up to the surface almost right when he hit the cage for the first time and watched from the top of the water as he got stuck.  (that’s the picture on my fb).  I kid you not I have never been more terrified in my life.  100000 thoughts went through my head in a matter of those probably 5 seconds that felt like forever.  I couldn’t understand why no one was trying to get the shark away, why no one was trying to help me get out, why were people still under water, why is the boat not trying to get away haha and let me tell you I was not even the closest one to its nose!  The second that thing got away I climbed out of the cage as fast as I could, my legs were shaking, haha.  as scary as it was, I wouldn’t take back that experience for anything, it was pretty sweet, and I didn’t get eaten..soo it’s all good!  Not too much longer after we headed back for lunch and to debrief what we did and watch the video footage that was taken.  Throughout the few hours that we were out at sea we saw 6 different great white sharks, only one of which was a female.  The biggest one that we saw was about  3-4 meters, which is pretty huge if you ask me, but they can get up to 6 meters (that’s almost 19 feet long!).  we also learned the truth behind the ‘most deadly creature’ myth.  It’s not really true.  It turns out that the idea that sharks attack surfers because they ‘look like seals from beneath the surface’ is also not true.  The only reason that the shark is portrayed as so dangerous, is derived from the movie Jaws.  Good job America, once again, for false advisement.  Anyways, what is really happening is that the sharks are unsure of this strange image they see above them.  most often the shark does not smell food that interest them, and thus turns away forgetting the human as we are no good for them.  however, on rare occasions, the more curious shark, most often a younger one, will in fact poke to the surface to investigate the human.  However this is unlikely because they are usually only curious about food in will satisfy them and humans, aren’t all too satisfying.  In fact, anytime you are in the ocean you are most likely surrounded by 10-15 sharks that are indeed aware of you – however, they are not interested and thus leave you alone.  The reason for this is that sharks prefer warmer water and thus will often appear closer inland then most will think as the water gets warmer as it get shallower.  Another rumor about sharks, is the effects of shark cage diving on the natural habitat of the sharks.  Many are opposed to it claiming that it is this interaction with humans that causes them to attack humans as they are experiencing more frequent encounters with humans, as well as feeding them, thus hindering their ability to survive on their own.  however this is also not true.  Sharks do not generally stay in the same area or body of water, they are wonderers.  Therefore, the same sharks do not usually appear in the same areas or to the same boat trips.  Once they realize they are uninterested in the bait, they swim off in search of other food to eat and rarely come back.  Also, the boat had regulations on how much bait they can carry with them at a time, for each trip out to sea.  I forget the exact amount but it is so little that it is can be as much as a shark would grab in one good bite of a decent meal.  Therefore not enough bait to satisfy or feed any shark or number of sharks.  All that being said, maybe some of us wont be so scared to swim in the water anymore, knowing that sharks aren’t looking for us, the don’t want us at all…in fact we are a bigger danger to sharks.  The most harmful animal is actually the human, if people keep hunting great sharks and polluting the waters as they do, they (the sharks) could soon become endangered.  Soo keep the waters clean and just look with your eyes (also be careful in the ocean, being cautious never hurt anyone)


Tata for now,


Erin


Oh p.s. by the time I got his blog up we also figured out the Internet! Soo hopefully I will now be able to blog more frequently!



oh and we also saw whales on the shore while at the market! that was cool!!

Friday, July 22, 2011

First Day of school! First day of school!!

“First day of school, first day of school!” (movie??!...this one is easy!)


(and second day of school aand 3rd day of school lol)


Soooo I know I’m skipping a head but yesterday (well now 2 days a go) was my first day at Brooklands Primary and im really excited to tell you all about it!  I promise write about the weekend and cage diving ASAP cause I know you would all love to hear more detail about my shark attack lol.


But first things first, let me introduce you to my host family, I moved in with the Keet family Tuesday night.  My mommy is Marena Keet; she is also my mentor teacher for grade 6 at Brooklands Primary, my daddy is Charles Keet, he is a business man working for Coca-Cola and my brother, Randal Keet is in his third year of law school at University of the Western Cape.  He plays a lot of soccer and his indoor team just won the finals.  Oh and, a beautiful Siberian husky names Casper, I might bring him back with me!  It all started Tuesday night, we had a function where all the host families came to meet us and then we went home with them.  Not going to lie, we all were pretty nervous.  There were so many things on my mind…after being together for so long it was bittersweet to leave each other, we had finally all gotten so close and now we were splitting up.  It was like we had just been taken on a wonderful 2 week vacation sight seeing and touring the most beautiful city I think I have ever been to and now we were off to work, I didn’t feel ready at all.  We didn’t know what to expect, what kind of environment we would be exposed to.  I felt like we had been ‘preped’ so much for the experiences in the schools, what the behavior might be like what this or that might be like, that I almost didn’t know what to expect any more.  It was just a whole lot of commotion and emotion, nervous, excited scared….all the above.  We sat at the church for a while and patiently waited to get picked up and the families slowly trickled in…one by one we were called over – it was like the lottery lol.  Then finally my family arrived and I was called over to meet them, it was really exciting!  We chatted, did the usual small talk ya know, then we all introduced ourselves to everyone, ate and then went home.  I have a lot of luggage..but somehow I don’t have enough warm clothes lol tooo many gifts I guess J.  Anyways, the house is beautiful, very classy!  I have my own room and some shelves so I could totally unpack! Yay for no suitcases for the next 4 weeks lol.  Being in a new country there are soooo many differences, from the people, the culture, the language, (ill tell you some good words later), the housing style, sports…literally anything you can think of its pretty cool.  But ya, the only big differences in the houses here is that the toilet is always separate, from the rest of the bathroom, and they have water shortages so the flush is very tiny lol and there are also burglar bars on all the windows and doors (in most houses)…just to be extra safe.  (I will talk more about housing later too).  Then the next way was the first day of school.  I wasn’t really nervous.  More excited I guess.  The students knew that I (an Americans) was coming to the school and going to spend time in their classroom.  And I they were pretty excited!  It is not often that Americans come here in to their classrooms, especially and they have a lot of questions for me and are very curious about the United States.  Its intriguing to hear what they want to know and what they ‘think’ of America.  its somewhat disappointing the images and pretenses they have that are incorrect that they have simply derived from the TV and movies.  They put America on this pedestal that is so perfect, that there is no crime, no poverty, they think we are all celebrities and that we live in mansions…it breaks my heart to think what they assume of us.  I think it’s important that they know that there is crime and poverty everywhere, nobody is perfect, nowhere is perfect.  We all have to work hard for the things that we want.  I will talk more about this later as well I am going to give a lesson/presentation on it so when I so I post about it the.  Meanwhile…I have never had so many eyes on me when I walked through the halls.. it was a different feeling, I don’t really know how to explain it.  I wasn’t scared or uncomfortable thought, just different I don’t really have any other way to describe it.  However, after hearing some of the questions they asked me, I sort of wonder what they were thinking of me or about me when they first actually saw me.  Mrs. Keet works with three different 6th grade classes.  So throughout the week I have introduced myself to each of the classes, showed them on a map where I am from (Cleveland) where I go to school (east Lansing) and where Andrew goes to school (Illinois).  They were intrigued by the distances from home to school shocked them, I then said we didn’t make the drive every day lol only on holidays. Then I have been getting to know more students each day and allow them to ask me some questions.  the questions were good…had I ever been to the empire state building, the statue of liberty, do I know any celebrities (Justin Bieber in particular), can I dance like usher, have I met usher, have I seen lil wayne (yes twice!), do I like in a mansion, have I seen Obama…and many more questions about the states.  They wanted to know what it was like there – I told them it was cold and flat lol.  There are a lot of differences between the schools, which I will tell you more in a later post, I am having a hard time posting, sorry.  I get caught up in stuff during the day and then when I go to write I fall a sleep or it’s too late to use the computer with the Internet.  Sorry!!  Any ways, its Friday now and I’m about to leave for my 3rd day.  Im teaching some math today!! …I have no idea what im doing lol I didn’t really prepare much at all….im gonna wing it, wish me luck!


Welpp didn’t teach math…but I gave a spelling test!  I am having a great time and I really love the kids and I have just been getting to know them.  It’s so different in grade 6.  I can relate to the students much better and they can help me too throughout the day.  Today I led an impromptu lesson and it’s just like having a conversation.  You want to know what they know and they want to know what you know.  They are curious and want to learn (well most of them).  im really enjoying being at this level I can't wait to get more into it.  Im so happy that im actually excited about this, I have been so apprehensive about teaching and this excitement that I am feeling really makes it come alive and motivates me to finally TRULY WANT to do something.  Im still not 100% but who ever is...im doing what im supposed to be doing for the time being at least and I am so grateful for this life experience.  More to come soon (I hope)


Much love,


Me

Thursday, July 21, 2011

quick hello!

hey there!

heard it was 100 in the mitten this week...lammeee its getting cold here waaaa

kk workign on a new post now! check soon!

love,

me

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Week at University of Cape Town

And so the ‘study’ part of study abroad began…


We arrived at UCT campus for our first day of lectures driving up to a beautiful building sitting right at the bottom of Table Mountain.  The buildings were covered in ivory and flowers and even though noting was in bloom (because its winter) it was so pretty.  I can’t even imagine it in the summer.  While it’s not quite like MSU, the ‘spirit’ store sucked and there is no (green) red cedar flowing through it, sitting on a mountainside is pretty damn cool.  So after the awe striking view we sat down, little be known to us, to an 8 hour day of classes…waaaa


However, we were able to hear some pretty cool speakers, I will tell you about them shortly but ill keep the details short I don’t know how interesting it will all be for you.  Although, if you want to comment and talk more about the issues or anything please feel free and let me know! Id love to chat..but beware the info is pretty heavy and focuses on African issues both pre and post apartheid.  Many of the speakers you can hear the anger and tension still in their voices.     


So,


Day 1:  we started off by giving presentations to the class and two guest speakers, Janice from Scotland and Simon Banda form South Africa.  The first presentations were about jobless growth; similar to what we suffer from in the states, the power of teacher unions, the implementation of the post apartheid education curriculum (C2005) and the effects of the 11 official languages among, teachers, students and families.  This makes it hard to communicate and even harder to teacher when the language you are teaching in the classroom is not what the student might be teaching at home. 


Simon then spoke about the outside impacts effecting education.  Him and Janice both work with the future leadership management of South African schools.  This kind of stuff was cool to hear first hand and see what is going from a different perspective.  South Africans really struggle with education, all races and particularly blacks and coloureds.  We talked a lot about the effects of teachers in the classroom and how big a role they play REGARDLESS of the resources available to the students.


“The quality of a classroom cannot exceed the quality of the teacher”


Student to teacher ratios have been studies also and it is shown that there is little effect on the students except in earlier grades. 


Day 2:  we had THE Jonathan Jansen come in to speak to us.  He is the author of the book we (were supposed to) read in preparation for our teaching here.  (Which starts tomorrow!!)  This part I will have to be brief with, he just had too much to many great things to say and I have limited time to write here.  He talked a lot about his time at the University of Pretoria (UP) where he was the first non-white dean of the university and the first to start integration there.  He talked about how he dealt with it and the issues that followed.  It was extremely powerful.  We also talked a lot about the effect of xenophobia, which is the fear of foreigners.  There were brutal attacks on villages and families that forced people to again move from their new homes.  We watched a movie called Shikaya, that depicted this and the youths that were effected really well.  One of the most shocking things for me was to see the hatred and bigotry directed towards these foreigners from other Africans who experienced the same kind of pain during the apartheid struggle.  You would think they would never want to do that to someone else.  However, the next part of the movie showed the remorse, and guilt felt by many of the children.  They were just doing what they thought they had to do.  Another thing that shocked me was then the wiliness of forgiveness and ability to move on. 


Day 3:  this day we finished up our presentations, on school fees, decentralization, the change of teacher education post partied (me) and the process of integration in schools, communities and surrounding areas of south Africa.  We then listened to a lecture from Crain Soulden about education and young people in South Africa.  A big thing he touched on unfortunately was the terrible effect of AIDS and its killing rate among teachers and students.  He also talked about racism and that even though the apartheid has ended and school have been integrated it still does not change the social and economic status of families.  This is something to consider even more then race, because that is the true factor impacting the school, what students go to what schools and what resources and thus teachers and supplies are available to the students. 


Day 4: WE FIANYLLY HAD THE DAY OFF!! Woohoo this was grreeaaattt!! We slept in, hung out, did laundry and then most people went to go see Harry Potter 7 part 2 but I am not well versed in the HP series so myself an a few others stayed back.  We hung out with the son of the family who runs Deo, the B+B we are staying at and had some drinks fireside.  This opportunity allowed me to learn about culture and life here for young South Africans.  I learned a few words like “dop” which means drink, referring to alcohol, dam, is like a pond where you would go to hang out, drink fish whatnot, “shabeen” is a place to buy alcohol after hours because they stop selling at like 8, there are not the safest places to go on the weekend apparently.  We made a fire by the side of the dam to keep warm, which I guess they do often – it was fun and relaxing and I learned a little Afrikaans.


Day 5: this was the last day of classes! Woooo!  And uuum I honestly don’t remember all too much what we talked about.  I was poooped and worn out even though we has a day off.  I do know that we talked in depth about the effects of the language barriers on not only teachers and students but also individuals and families of the country.  All in all this week was a pretty good prep for us on what to expect when we go into the classrooms (tomorrow) to start teaching.  I wasn’t nervous…but now im freaking out!  haha I have 6th graders and I hope it al goes well.  I have never really been nervous for teaching before, but then again it’s always been with kindies…and now there are kids that can talk back to me….ha wish me luck!!


Some cool foods we ate this week:


Rotie – was like a wrap with chicken and curry, pretty good!!


We have also been eating a ton of lamb!! I love it tho! (we have also been eating A TON not kidding – no African diet for me, I swear I think ive gained 10 pounds already…you like HAVE to take a lot on your plate and finish it all… L) haha oh well ill figure it out when I get back lol


For dinner one night we had breyani, this is a mixture of rice, potato and chicken all cooked together!  I liked this too!  All the foods have been pretty spicy another thing I love! Soo ya, 10 pounds is prob no exaggeration….


Ok wellll its breakfast time now and im sad to leave you all i want to jeep writing but times up...Today we are visiting a township. This is a place that you might ‘think’ of when you think of Africa…it is going to be an emotional day but I am hoping to lean a lot.  Last night was also out last night in Dao, today we go with out host families.  Im nervous but excited!  I have a brother who is about Andrew's age so hopefully he will be able to take me on some cool hikes or out a little so I can see more of the culture.  On the down side I don’t know when I will be able to update next because I don’t think they have internet..but I will do my best!  I still have lots to update you on still!!


Miss everyone soooo much!!!


Keep checking for updates


Love ya tons,


Erin


P.S. I MISSS MY BRUDDERRRRR A LOTT!!!! Cause I know how much you would love it here and I wish you were here!!! 

Sleepyhead

Hey there friends! Well sorry again it’s taken me so long to update we have been mighty busy.  After the hike down Table Mountain it took quite some time to recover only adding to the sleepless days we were enduring going to lectures at University of Cape Town (UCT) from morning till night…I have never been so tired in my life.  I have been learning a lot of interesting things though about African life, culture and history especially in terms of education.  We also had our first weekend trip to Hermanus where we did the shark cage diving! Soo I have lots to fill you in on!  However, every night when I sit down to write about it – I end up falling a sleep… as is the case again now.  And on top of that there are soo many of us trying to connect to one router it makes it difficult to upload or open anything.  So im going to keep of writing this blog in a word doc, but I will most likely not post till the AM (my AM) im sorry but I cant even keep my eyes open.  Just wanted to check in for a little.  I miss everyone sooooo much!  I was home sick yesterday for the first time in my life!  Well maybe not so much home sick as I just wished everyone could have been there with me to enjoy the beauty and the moment.  It just got to me.  Its so incredible being in such a spectacular place, seeing the things that im seeing and doing the things that im doing, I am jealous for all of you that you cant be here – but I will bring you back one time, I mean it!!  



im anxious to update my self it’s bothering me that I am so far behind…but when the body wants to sleep the body wants to sleep. 

Night yall, im planning on waking up early to get a real update in there!

Much love,


(working on a good one now!)

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Too cold to update - Sunday Funday

Hi everyone,
 
Ok I’m freeeeezing right now so this post is going to be brief.  (Also deserving after the last one, and I have a presentation tomorrow so I should get to bed).  However, I’d like to try and catch up.
Ok so Sunday the day after the hike…couldn’t walk – actually still can barley walk it looks like I have a stick up my ass.  3 days later…I think my body is telling me something haha… maybe if I lived out here.. Or by the mountains id be able to get in shape hiking, that’s some exercise I wouldn’t mid doing.  Although, through the pain, we didn’t slow down, kinda actually lol but we still did a lot.  Our first tourist destination for the day was the Cape of Good Hope.  Ill tell you what information I remember, ya I'm shivering soo I gotta make this fast.  This site among from having 1000000000 stairs to climb is a look out point over the areas of convergence between Atlantic and Indian Oceans.  Where the two oceans actually end and begin is still up for debate, but this was the general area.  And of course, it was gorgeous.  Just gorgeous, I somehow managed to climb up allll the way to the top to make sure I could get awesome picts to eventually share with you! Hehe I love bragging and not letting you see, its fun for me over here.  Oh oh and I almost forgot the best part…on the way to the cape I experienced yet another aspect of true Africa!  We saw animals on the side of the road…ready…. wild BAMBOOS! Hahah yes there were monkeys running around in the middle of the road, like deer, but way more!  (Jealous Andrew??).  There were some babies and some momma prob and then we drove a little farther and saw the papa!  That was pretty sweet!  Corvell said that one time one of the big ones got hold of his bag and he had to wrestle him to get it back…not sure if I believe it, maybe tho.  We have some to learn the sarcasm of South Africans as well.  Can never take them seriously.  But that’s ok, its my kinda style, laid back, relaxed and always running late, ha the reasons to move here just keep getting better.  But once at the cape after some picture taking we got some lunch here and then moved on to the next destination, Boulders.  This was a beach/park where we got to see more animals…penguins!!!  They were little guys, super cute!  Haha every time I look back at the picts they make me laugh!  To end the day we went to Corvell’s church for dinner.  THE FOOD WAS AMAZING!  All home cooked by his family, everyone here is also family!  It was so nice, and really made us feel together, good community building!  We ate, like 3 plates full, lamb, chicken pie, cauliflower thing, rice, and a lot more!  Then dessert!  Woooo what a meal!  We then also got to hear a singing group from the church called His Men.  They were soooo good! But ok it’s late and I’ve hit the freezing point x2.

Hope your all enjoying the sun

Goeie Nag

Ohh this week we are at UCT ill probably wait to do that all in one blog…well see though

 

Monday, July 11, 2011

Too beautiful for words...

Well helloooooo (movie?! +5 cool points)
 
I’m am oh so sorry I haven’t posted in a while, it has been quite a few days…we changed rooms, were having internet issues and have been pretty busy, and I have been slightly lazy on top of that.  However, yes, I'm still alive! (also all I have to say would just make you even more eager to see pictures and jealous, so I thought id spare the pain.)  I swear, this place is too beautiful for words.  But to get back to where I left off…I believe this post will be a long one, for all of us sooo here enjoy!

Going back to Friday, June 8th I believe, we went to signal hill which over looked Cape Town.  There are mountains to one side and the endless ocean to the other.  Stunning.  (the picture says 1000 words I cannot put together to even give you the slightest idea of its beauty.)  The mountain view over looks 12 different mountain peaks, called the 12 apostles.  Among these peaks there are many more, one in particular called lions head, its supposed to look like a lion looking up at the sky but I think it looks more like a gorilla head looking out…  Either way it’s up to interpretation and pretty cool.  We walked around there for a while and took a ton of pictures!  (look it up to get an idea if ya want).  We then headed to a big market where we all worked on our bargaining skills!  It’s harder then you might think, especially if you really want what you’re bargaining for.  But it was fun, I think well get better as go on.  We then went to Hout Bay where we got lunch...dun dun dun.... the fish... the fish I got was called Hake, ummm im not going to say that I loved it or that I liked it...but I ate it! Go me!! Andrew I was terrified! I think I was more scared then I will be to bungle jump!  After lunch we went to Chapmans Peake, for another fantastic view of the mountains and Cape Town.  And of course took many more pictures.  The final look out point for the day was Cape Flat.  This area is where the black and colored families were exiled to after their evacuations from district six.  We then ended our day of touring at the oldest winery in Cape Town for another wine tasting (only 1 this time).  Everyone was pretty tired at this point and it was close to closing so we didn’t spend too much time there.  As the day came to an end we experienced another traditional food for dinner, called the Gatsby.  This is a GIANT and I really mean giant (like 3 feet long 6 inches tall and wide) sub with chicken (choice of meat) lemon juice spices mayo tomatoes lettuce and chips (fries).  Chips can be found on and/or with nearly everything here!  Although it was mainly a sight seeing and food culture day it wore us out and we headed back early and I passed out, in preparation for a long day to follow, the hike down Table Mountain!

And so, on Saturday, began my favorite day so far!  The morning started off a little bit behind as we waited for one of our vans to get fixed, Stephanie, the red volts wagon, a hippie van, she wouldn’t start.  It seems like a lot of cars here are pretty sketchy.  Haha but anyways, she eventually turned around picked us up and we headed for the mountain!  This is the mountain that you will most often see in my pictures.  She’s a beauty!  we lucked out for sure because this day was b-e-a-utiful!! Clear sky, sun out, high temps ahhh life was good!  We all piled on to the cable car to take us up the mountain.  The cabin car floor rotates at 360 degrees giving riders the chance for a fantastic view on all sides as the car brings you up over 1000 meters high at 10 m/s…you do the math).  This mountain is a special one and it could be the oldest mountain in the world.  its not 100 percent sure, but its believed that Table Mountain is at least 6 times older then the Himalayas…soooo ya, you do the math there too!  (hint: it was formed under the sea about 6 million years a go).  The most common animal found on the mountain is the dassie, or the Rock Hyrax.  They are like mountain bunnies but without the floppy ears, you see tons of them, I got some great picts…that you cant see yet.  “Weird Rock Hyrax fact #455 in a twist of nature stranger then fiction, the dassie’s closest relative is the African Elephant…” Table Mountain is very special to Cape Town and serves locals and tourists on many levels.  Its 300 plus trails provides opportunity for all levels of hikers to enjoy the natural beauty.  To Capetonians it remains the geological and spiritual heart of the city.  Ok, enough facts and on to the adventure.  Now, this hike was no walk in the park, well it was technically a walk in a national park but, it was no measly little hike.  It was Western II 2004 style, if you know what I mean….and for those for those if you who don’t, its basically what I live for…and what that means is a true hikers/back-packers dream, a challenge, like a 4 on a scale of 1-5, 1 being the easiest, 5 being the hardest.  Steep…I mean reallyy steep!  Not a windy little path Corvell made it out to be.  I’m not complaining, well now I am because 2 days later I still can’t walk…seriously, I, among 15 others are really struggling to move, like in and out of the van..ha  Stairs are a no!  But, before I got sore, it was the most amazing thing I have ever done and more then worth it.  Sorry Western trip 2, ya just got beat, and I can’t believe I’m saying that, 7-year record was a damn good run!  The views were… __________ (you fill in the blank for my lack of a better description, I honestly cant – words just wouldn’t to justice).  From daytime to nightfall, I saw it all.  the sunlight glistened over the mountaintops, with clear blue skies in the distance, its rays sparkled over the water and slowly set on the distant horizon, to leave only the moonlight to guide the way.  The flicker of the city lights decorated the backdrop to the shore of the ocean leading to a black abyss where the sky and the water meet.  It was pure beauty in its most natural form.  Its moments like this that make you realize and appreciate what the world has to offer. I could see constellation upon constellation, ones that we don’t ever get to see in the Northern Hemisphere, I felt like I was watching the starts turn on as they glimmered in the pitch darkness.  As I laid there, on the gravel, gazing into the sky, comfortable as ever, stretching my legs after the 3ish hour hike down…a shooting star arched across the sky.  Nothing, at that moment, could have been more prefect.  Serenity.   

Its experiences like this, that build character, confidence and strength; physically, emotionally and mentally.  It is truly something spectacular to see the support and respect you gain from one another to conquer something so tremendous.  It’s a life experience, it’s an opportunity to prove to oneself their inner strength, it’s a test of integrity, and self-determination.  This is truly what I live for, I could do this everyday – national parks of the world watch out!  I am coming for you!

Ok wowza this was waaayy longer then intended so I'm going to cut myself off for now and I shall continue later…

Hopefully it will be later tonight or tomorrow, sorry I’m so behind  - typical Erin I guess.

Tata for now,

peace and love

p.s. if my future husband ever reads this blog…lets go backpacking for our honeymoon….we can save the paradise vaca to escape parenthood one-day (and it wont be too costly)…..hahahaha (sorry, but people on the trip are married and engaged and this type of convo comes up a lot, so I thought about it, just an idea…)

Friday, July 8, 2011

Taal Monument and Zurguliet Vinyard

Yesterday was a much lighter day.  We began with breakfast and a reflection of yesterday and comment on things that we have really like so far, which helped sum up what we saw and prepare us for when we dive even deeper in a few weeks.  I really like things like that.  But then we headed out to a city called Paarl to see Taal Monument representing the development of the African language Afrikaans.  Its design was decided from a competition held in which architects submitted their designs reflecting the language by identifying in roots, connecting it to the land, the culture and the people.  The winning design was built.  This monument looks like fingers where each ‘finger’ represents a different influence on the language.  Afrikaans is one of Africa’s official ELLEVEN languages!! While Afrikaans is most popular, most people are only fluent in 2 of the languages.  The monument is located in the most beautiful area high up, surrounded by mountains on all sides.  The view is absolutely breath taking.  We were climbing all over the structure, as high as we could!  Andrew, you would be very proud of all the climbing and ‘off trailing’ I have been doing so far!  J   .  We spent A LOT of time taking pictures here; we couldn’t get enough of it.  On the topic of pictures, I am ABSOLUTLY LOVING my camera!  It is so fun to play with and I’m getting pretty good utilizing it! I’ll be a pro by the end of the trip!  (I already CANT WAIT for meet season lol!!!).  We got so caught up in it all, the view, climbing, taking pictures and being together that we ended up being there way longer than planned!! But that was ok, we completely took in the experience!  Afterwards we went to a French town and has some lunch mountain side.  It was gorgeous!  The sun was out and you can always see the moon and there were mountains surrounding us on all side.  I could never get sick of it, almost too beautiful to describe.  One day I WILL live in the mountains!  On the way back to the car we stopped at a stand where some men were selling hand crafted goods.  There were wooden and stone carving that were really cool.  We all did some pretty good barging, and got some authentic stuff!  That took a while, its hard to barging sometime, kind of intimidating.  We then headed to a wine tasting at Zurgliet Vineyard.  All the wines we tasted were harvested and fermented right on the vineyard we were at.  Pretty cool.  We again took awesome pictures here, the view is just too great everywhere we go, we spend half out time taking picts! I can’t wait to show them to you! Sorry for all the suspense lol.  In fact we spend so much time taking pictures everywhere that we didn’t even make it to the second winery that we were supposed to go to.  We headed to dinner and everyone fell asleep in the car.  We literally fall asleep every time we sit down.  We then went to dinner, which, is one of the biggest cultural differences between the US and South Africa.  Meal time here is a time to socialize and relax.  It is when you talk and enjoy each others company…for like 3 hours.  If you want a fast meal, just stick to fast food.  Upon arriving at a restaurant and ordering it is almost an hour before you get your food.  Then about an hour to eat and then 30 or so more minutes for dessert and the bill.  Its been hard to us to adjust to this, waiting for our food and stuff, but I think its good.  It gives us a first-hand experience of South African culture and we really have been able to get to know each other a lot better.  We have had some pretty good conversations.  America, take note – enjoy one another’s company more, talk to people, learn aout them, its fun J.  Another culture think im taking in is – the food.  I figure, im here, lets do it.  Im really trying to take advantage of the ‘new experiences’.  Last night I had monkey gland with chicken schnitzel.  It looks like salsa and it kind of like a sweeter sauce.  If you like sweet and sour chicken or orange chicken, youd like this.  So because im not really a fanof sweet meat it didn’t quite tickle my fancy, but it wasnt bad.  (if youd like to know that that is, google it yourself, im not 100 percept sure, ill leave it that way).  But on the topic of food….today is THE BIG FISH DAY!! Woo, wish me luck!  We will be walking around the peninsula all day and going out to a nice lunch/dinner so again the picture im sure will be outstanding!  Ok, talk to yall later! Ill let ya know how it goes!

Thursday, July 7, 2011

District Six Museum

Helllo everyone,
Sorry about the cut off last night I was just too tired to write anymore but before I continue I just want to point out that I feel like I get emotional a lot…I do, deal with it, runs in the family – I’ll try to leave it for the more extreme moment from now on to spare you. 
Ok so, the remainder of the day yesterday did not get any easier, in fact I think the next part hit even harder.  We went to the district six museum.  This is a place that shows/tells us about the forceful displacement of the blacks and the coloreds from their homes.  In 1950, the groups area act declared a low that whites could live wherever they so choose for whatever reason, allowing them to displace preoccupied individuals of the land.  One of the most prominent acts of this law was on district 6 in Cape Town.  In 1966, blacks were forcefully expelled from the city.  The speaker at this museum was a victim of this violence.  He and his family were among the many displaced from their homes.  You could hear the anger and frustration that still lingered in his voice, the pain he felt and the emotion he was trying to convey.  He was a spectacular speaker, emphasising the most important aspects of his story and the history behind what happened.  He spoke about the horrors and the struggles that came from this event, and the remaining struggle that followed.  However, he also spoke about the strength and pride and hope he had and that he wanted to spread to everyone.   He wanted to inflict pain yet strike hope, and he very much did so.
 “whether we are white, black, colored or Indian we are all from the same race – the human race.  Yet we are the only species with ears on our heads as ornaments..because we never listen…Animals kill for the need of survival, people kill to kill, and it’s from selfishness and greed..”

...think about it

(ill post again tonight about today or early in the AM)

Goeie Nag

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Robben Isalnd

Woooo today was another lonnng and pretty emotionally moving day!  Today we started off by visiting Robben Island, the prison camp where Nelson Mandela was held.  Upon our arrival, Corvell coincidently ran into one of his old students who work on the island and we were able to get a private tour.  We got a private bus ride and were able to get out and walk around at all the sites.  It was a very inspirational experience as we learned about the use of the island and it most notorious use as a political prison camp during the apartheid.  there were actually 5 phases of the camp, first it was used as an occasional settlement before 1652, it was then a colonial prison between 1657-1921, then it was used as a hospital from 1846-1931.  There is only one remaining building on the island from this time.  Individuals who were suffering from leprosy were exiled to the island along with any other handicap or infected individual, blind, deaf, need glasses, flu..anything that could be found.  After the use as a hospital the island became a naval base until 1959 and then finally became the political prison base from 1961-1996.  There were many levels of security for prisoners depending on their reasoning for prisonment and also pertaining to their race..colored, black.. Prisoners were only allowed to see visitors of 30 minutes, once, every 6 months, and the ferry to the island only came one time, so if you missed the boat...you missed the boat.  Letter were sent however, censored strictly of their content and many times not delivered especially to the higher security prisoners.  of the most famous prisoners and political activists was Nelson Mandela.  Since his release and the ending of the apartheid the island has been constructed into a place of learning, a museum and a historical landmark.  They actually have turned some of the cells and recreational areas into classrooms and lecture halls for a post grad education program.  They want the island to not be remembered for its brutality and struggles but for the hope and pride and success it represents.  We also got the privilege to be given tours and spoke with a former prisoner of the island for 11 years.  He explained to us the living and the harsh realities of the camps.  He explained how individuals were separated by level of crime as well as by race.  To represent the hope and togetherness of the prisoners they created énsebuelas’ (not at all sure on the spelling).  This is a symbolic collection of rocks piled high laid by each prisoner as a way to show strength and growth.  We then made on of our own.  We each collected a rock and were able to say something as we laid them together in a pile, I laid my rock for new experiences.  It was at this moment that I realized how great of an experience this trip is about to be.  I am surrounded by some incredible people that I already feel like I have known for years, we have been able to connect and relate to things stirring up thought and emotion that are truly entering and motivating and this experience will be one of a lifetime and I am becoming more and more motivated to become a teacher and share such profound knowledge and history.  Ok getting chocked up, that’s enough about Robben Island and it’s getting late I’m the only one still up…i will share the rest of the day in tomorrow’s blog…sorry if it’s a long one, you know how I feel about those…

G’night



Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Greetings from Cape Town!

Well we have officially been here 1 full day and I can tell these upcoming weeks are going to be pretty funny!  I got myself surrounded by an awesome group of people!  - lucky me :)  well last night was quite a shock it was crazy to finally get here.  we all enjoyed the few hours of sleep we got very much, but its freeezzing! (we all got heated blankets for tonight).  i cant remember what i said in the last post but we are staying at a bed and breakfast place in Durbanville, South Africa called Deo-Gratia.  its perfect!  we are kind of far from the city center but its a great location where we can all be together.  this morning we had breakfast, which was interesting. the food is not the same.  but - ya cant knock it till ya rock it so, we all tried a little marmite...all i have to say, is...you gotta try it once - JUST once.  (i almost thew up, but i was worth the experience, haha).  we then set off for the first mall apparently south Africans loveee their malls there are a ton!  the first mall we went to we exchanged money aaaand a few of us got lost...not our fault they left with out us!  but we were found and then we had lunch.  so far everywhere that we have gone there has been a mcdonals...that pisses me offf!! im such a huge fan of authenticity and thats American - im on the other side of the wold!  but whatever...  after the mall we went to an animal place where i did something pretttty cool...... I PLAYED WITH A CHEETAH! yup thats right, check off to my first true áfrican' experience. haha his name was Cheeba and i think he was 2 years old.  he was so cute, purring as we pet him and was giving kisses to the guy holding him calm.  before we went in we had to sanitize our hands and the soles of our shoes...*fun fact* cheetahs have a really weak immune system.  after that we went to ANOTHER mall, the 3rd biggest in south Africa!  and guess what i got there.....(drum rollll)  kicks... haha didnt take too long, but is anyone surprised lol.  and that was about the highlights of our day! 

however, i have been on this computer for too long and this post is probably even too long for me to reread to i will spare you for now.  i apologize for the lack of picts, macs dont get Internet connection here sooo blogging and fb chatting might be the best for now.

Goeie Nag!

(Good night in Afrikans - the 'g' is pronounced like in German or like "ch" in Hebrew) soo like "chooya nach" hah try it!)

Monday, July 4, 2011

AMSTERDAM!!

I AMSTERDAM

Heyyy from Amsterdam!  Only in the airport but still...  We tried to see if we could leave and go to the city for a little because we have a 4 hour layover but apparently on Mondays nothing opens till 1 and it was 7 in the morning...Europeans lol.  The plane ride here wasnt too bad, complementary beer and wine througut the flight ;) haha needless to say, we were entertained for the first half, watched a movie the second half and then we landed!  we had personal TVs on each of the seats, you could play games, listen to music, watch movies, and then my personal favorite was the map!  it was a map of the planes path and we could see what we were flying over.  the total flight was 3492 miles (i think) and 7 hours long.  We flew over canada, then the Atlantic, then Ireland and then Britain and then we made it to Amsterdam.  It literally took us 20 minutes, if not less, to cross over Ireland and THREE minutes to go from Liverpool to Manchester!  We also got dinner (chicken, which i didnt eat lol) and breakfast (egg and cheese sandwich, OJ, and a banana).  The airport here is awesome!  Just walked around for a little its sweeet and very classy! There are the coolest benches and couches, very modern, and everyone is lookin so cute, no normal (american) airport atire ahha.  guess we'll know for next time.  i will try and figure out how to put pictures on here..if not ill put them on facebook soon! 

oh, and about following and posting comments, i think you just click on the post comment button and go to the drop down menu and post as your name, i tried to set if up that way, if its not working, keep trying, let me know if you can, if not - just enjoy reading.

Tata for now!

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Today's the day!!

Gooooood Morning!

It is a good morning!  Holy crap im leaving today!  This is insane, i have been saying for so long now that "im going to africa" and now..im really going to Africa, TODAY!! (well actually i wont get there till tomorrow but the journey begins today!) unreal..... well my flight leaves at 4 and your supposed to get there 3 hours in advance for an international flight.. soo i might be doing a lot of blogging later lol.  my dad told me that there is this map on the plane that shows your path so you can see what countries your flying over, if i can get internet connection defiantly expect some live updates!  wow its really sinking in now... i going to miss everyone so much, stay connected, comment ask me questions, and i promise i will do my best to share as much as i can!

im getting emotional gotta go...

~Erin 

Saturday, July 2, 2011

maad day of preparation

Hello there...

what kind of greeting would you give at 3am?

Today was crayy crayy!! well kinda, been up since 9, after i woke up from a horrifying dream that i forgetting my passport *gasp* (shocker) and somehow cried my way through it, ha...however, i had no way back lol.  the thing is, im so paranoid about loosing/forgetting stuff, that i have been making sure i check to see it and where it is every day for the past few weeks.  paranoid - i know but you should know, i loose things easily - i need one of those remote base sensors (early bday gift?).  But, guess my gut knows by now how i like to forget, sooo thanks gut for reminding me in my sleep.  my passport is now safely in one of those wonderful secret little passport bags, thanks mamma.  but since then i have been shopping and packing ever since.. ended up postponing heading to michigan till the am (not surprised), got some clothes, some books, ma nails did and had a delicious chipotle lunch to bid me farewell!  still got some stuff left to get and pack tomorrow but for the most part...im ready, im ready, im ready!!  spent a lovely day with my mommy and we didnt fight once :)

EL in the AM

peace for now gotta get some zzz in

...till tomorrow

Friday, July 1, 2011

takin' care of business...

hello...i have ever done this before...heres my blog. lets go!

Welpp.. i did it!  just wrote my final paper of undergrad...submitted it, and assuming i passed...im donzoo!!

and now i can finally get excited about africa!  if you know me well you wouldn't be surprised to know that i have yet to start packing...woop woop, shocker i know.  ha im honestly surprised i got this blog up and running, but for all of you wanting to hear about my adventures, i did it for you :)

soo im gonna keep this short cause i know i dont like to read a lot of blahh blahh blahh heres how im felling stuff sooo ill keep it short and sweet....IM FREEKING PUMPED!!! I cant believe this is happening its seriously all so fast...i feel like i was a freshie yesterday and now im graduated and doing something for real with my life *chills* crazy how time flies!  but its time to take on the world!

HERE WE GO!!

peace blogger